News Flash Home
The original item was published from 11/27/2017 2:14:03 PM to 1/1/2018 12:00:10 AM.

News Flash

Press Releases

Posted on: November 27, 2017

[ARCHIVED] 05-2017 Washington Association of County Officials elects new Board Trustees

OLYMPIA – The Washington Association of County Officials (WACO) has announced the election of Yakima County Treasurer Ilene Thomson as President of the association. In addition, WACO members have elected three trustees to the board, as well as its 2018 executive officers.

At their annual conference and business meeting, the Washington Association of County Officials held elections for the Board of Trustees. Snohomish County Assessor Linda Hjelle, Mason County Treasurer Lisa Frazier, and San Juan County Auditor Milene Henley were each elected to two-year terms as Trustee at Large.

During its annual business meeting, WACO members elected Ilene Thomson, Yakima County Treasurer, to a one-year term as WACO President. Thomson had previously served as Vice-President. As WACO President, Thomson will lead the organization server over 260 separately elected officials in all 39 of Washington’s counties in legislative, education and communications efforts across a broad spectrum of subjects.

Following the election, Lewis County Assessor Dianne Dorey will take over as Vice-President; while former Secretary/Treasuer, Kittitas County Auditor Jerry Pettit will become 2nd Vice-President of the organization. Kittitas County Prosecutor Greg Zempel was elected Secretary/Treasurer for a one-year term.

# # #

Facebook Twitter Email